Happy If You Know It
Happy If You Know It

Adult Non-Fiction / 2017 / With/out Pretend Press

AD + Design by Jen Spinner / Photography by Sam Pierre / Book Photography by Angela Lewis

How do we know if we’re in the right place, or if we’re making the right decisions? How do we know when we’re happy? We’re told to listen to our “intuition” like it’s the foremost expert on what will make us happiest — but what if our intuition isn’t loud enough? What if it leads us astray? What does it mean to trust your “gut?”

Don’t confuse Happy If You Know It with a traditional self-help book. This anthology relies on personal experience and exploration rather than facts, figures, or Instagrammable affirmations. This book is not a guide. There are no actionable steps, no checklists. Instead, this book features personal, revelatory contributions from 15 different women.

Paradise Lodge
Paradise Lodge

YA Fiction / 2016 / Penguin UK

It's 1977, and fifteen-year-old Lizzie Vogel is working in an old people's home. The place is in chaos, and it's not really a suitable job for a schoolgirl - she'd only gone for the job because it seemed too exhausting to commit to being a full-time girlfriend or a punk. She's also distracted by her family's financial troubles, keeping up with schoolwork, and deciding which brand of shampoo to use. When a rival old people's home opens, offering better parking and daily 'chairobics', business at Paradise Lodge takes a turn for the worse, and everyone must chip in to save the home before it's too late - from the crazed Matron, to the assertively shy nurse who only communicates via little grunts, to the very attractive son of the Chinese takeaway manager...

The Lido
The Lido

Adult Fiction / 2018 / Simon & Schuster

Rosemary Peterson has lived in Brixton, London, all her life but everything is changing.

The library where she used to work has closed. The family grocery store has become a trendy bar. And now the lido, an outdoor pool where she's swum daily since its opening, is threatened with closure by a local housing developer. It was at the lido that Rosemary escaped the devastation of World War II; here she fell in love with her husband, George; here she found community during her marriage and since George’s death.

Twentysomething Kate Matthews has moved to Brixton and feels desperately alone. A once promising writer, she now covers forgettable stories for her local paper. That is, until she’s assigned to write about the lido’s closing. Soon Kate’s portrait of the pool focuses on a singular woman: Rosemary. And as Rosemary slowly opens up to Kate, both women are nourished and transformed in ways they never thought possible.

In the tradition of Fredrik Backman’s A Man Called Ove, The Lido is a charming, feel-good novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generations—an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship.

Happy If You Know It
Paradise Lodge
The Lido
Happy If You Know It

Adult Non-Fiction / 2017 / With/out Pretend Press

AD + Design by Jen Spinner / Photography by Sam Pierre / Book Photography by Angela Lewis

How do we know if we’re in the right place, or if we’re making the right decisions? How do we know when we’re happy? We’re told to listen to our “intuition” like it’s the foremost expert on what will make us happiest — but what if our intuition isn’t loud enough? What if it leads us astray? What does it mean to trust your “gut?”

Don’t confuse Happy If You Know It with a traditional self-help book. This anthology relies on personal experience and exploration rather than facts, figures, or Instagrammable affirmations. This book is not a guide. There are no actionable steps, no checklists. Instead, this book features personal, revelatory contributions from 15 different women.

Paradise Lodge

YA Fiction / 2016 / Penguin UK

It's 1977, and fifteen-year-old Lizzie Vogel is working in an old people's home. The place is in chaos, and it's not really a suitable job for a schoolgirl - she'd only gone for the job because it seemed too exhausting to commit to being a full-time girlfriend or a punk. She's also distracted by her family's financial troubles, keeping up with schoolwork, and deciding which brand of shampoo to use. When a rival old people's home opens, offering better parking and daily 'chairobics', business at Paradise Lodge takes a turn for the worse, and everyone must chip in to save the home before it's too late - from the crazed Matron, to the assertively shy nurse who only communicates via little grunts, to the very attractive son of the Chinese takeaway manager...

The Lido

Adult Fiction / 2018 / Simon & Schuster

Rosemary Peterson has lived in Brixton, London, all her life but everything is changing.

The library where she used to work has closed. The family grocery store has become a trendy bar. And now the lido, an outdoor pool where she's swum daily since its opening, is threatened with closure by a local housing developer. It was at the lido that Rosemary escaped the devastation of World War II; here she fell in love with her husband, George; here she found community during her marriage and since George’s death.

Twentysomething Kate Matthews has moved to Brixton and feels desperately alone. A once promising writer, she now covers forgettable stories for her local paper. That is, until she’s assigned to write about the lido’s closing. Soon Kate’s portrait of the pool focuses on a singular woman: Rosemary. And as Rosemary slowly opens up to Kate, both women are nourished and transformed in ways they never thought possible.

In the tradition of Fredrik Backman’s A Man Called Ove, The Lido is a charming, feel-good novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generations—an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship.

show thumbnails